You’re Next (review)

Dir: Adam Wingard
Writer: Simon Barrett
Starring: Simon Barrett, Sharni Vinson, Nicholas Tucci, Wendy Glenn, A. J. Bowen and Joe Swanberg.

I finally got around to watching this film and I have to say, it’s mediocre at best. Although, the premise is great. The plot is, a family come to the parents 35th wedding anniversary at their home. The parents are super rich and their children with their partners are whiney and annoying. The film starts off much like a slasher. Two people having sex (breaking an essential golden rule for all slasher films) then one has a shower whilst the other puts music on. Woman gets killed, man gets killed, film starts. That has not given away the rest of the movie I assure you. But people do get killed. Some in a very comical way.
20131215-144306.jpg
I had high hopes for this film, just because the trailer was so good. It looked like it would be an all out blood bath from the start. But what I got was a few deaths here and there, sibling rivalry and someone who just happened to have “survival training”.
20131215-144520.jpg
Don’t get me wrong, the film isn’t terrible. It is mediocre though. As I was watching the flick, my mind wondered off and I started thinking of other things. But that was when characters were talking and I didn’t care enough to listen to them. They could have done a lot more for the plot. You actually get to see the killers faces which I think takes away the eeriness of the masks. I thought the masks were fantastic though, which was one of the things that drew me to the film. But it was let down by not enough thrills and too much annoying characters.
20131215-145202.jpg
I would recommend this film with a group so you can laugh and/or shout at silly mistakes! But enjoy the bloodbath, as infrequent as it is.

2/5

Leave a Reply

